Doctoral Thesis Award

TTTC’s E. J. McCluskey Best Doctoral Thesis 2017 Award Contest

Named after Prof. E.J. McCluskey, a key contributor to the field of test technology, the 2017 TTTC’s Doctoral Thesis Award serves the purpose to promote most impactful doctoral student work, to provide the students with the exposure to the community and the prospective employers, and to support interaction between academia and industry in the field of test technology.

TTTC’s E.J. McCluskey Best Doctoral Thesis Award will be given to the winning student of the doctoral student contest and his or her advisor.

The contest is held in two stages: semi-finals and finals.

In 2017, semi-finals will be held at the IEEE VLSI Test Symposium (VTS), the IEEE European Test Symposium (ETS), the IEEE Latin American Test Workshop (LATW) and the IEEE Asian Test Symposium (ATS). At each semi-final, a jury composed of industrial experts will determine the winner, and the four winners will compete against each other in the finals, held at the International Test Conference (ITC) 2016.

VTS 2017 Semifinalists:

  1. Robert Karam (University of Florida), Advisor: Swarup Bhunia
    Thesis title: Energy-Efficient and Secure Reconfigurable Computing Architecture
  2. Yu Liu (The U. of Texas at Dallas), Advisor: Yiorgos Makris
    Thesis title: Hardware Trojans in Wireless Cryptographic ICs
  3. Cheng Xue (Carnegie Mellon University), Advisor: R.D. (Shawn) Blanton
    Thesis title: Optimizing IC Testing for Diagnosability, Effectiveness and Efficiency
  4. Yuming Zhuang (Iowa State University), Advisor: Degang Chen
    Thesis title: Accurate and Robust Spectral Testing with Relaxed Instrumentation Requirements

Contact persons: